The Intel® C++ Compiler provides optimizations that help your applications to run faster Intel® 64 and IA-32 architectures, with support for the latest C and C++ language standards (including C++17). This compiler produces optimized code that can run significantly faster by taking advantage of the ever-increasing core count and vector register width in Intel® Xeon® processors and compatible processors. The Intel® Compiler will help you boost application performance through superior optimizations and Single Instruction Multiple Data (SIMD) vectorization, integration with Intel® Performance Libraries, and by leveraging the latest OpenMP* 5.0 parallel programming model.

Start using the compiler from the command line or within the Eclipse* C/C++ Development Toolkit (CDT).

Before You Begin

Before you can use this tool, you must first set the environment variables by sourcing the environment script using the initialization utility to initialize all the tools in one step:

  1. From a command prompt or script, change directory (cd) to <install_dir>/compilers_and_libraries_2020.<update number>.<package number>/linux/bin
  2. Enter source compilervars.sh ia32|intel64 or source compilervars.csh ia32|intel64

By default, <install_dir> is:

Option 1: Use the Command Line

Use the commands below to invoke the compiler from the command line.

Option 2: Use the Eclipse* CDT

Follow the steps below to invoke the compiler from within the Eclipse* CDT.

Step 1: Install the Intel® Compiler Eclipse CDT plugin.

  1. Start Eclipse
  2. Select Help > Install New Software
  3. Select Add to open the Add Site dialog
  4. Select Local, browse to <install_dir>/ide_support_2020/eclipse/compiler_xe (the default path for install-dir> is /opt/intel/), then select OK
  5. Deselect Group items by category
  6. Select the options beginning with Intel, select Next, then follow the installation instructions
  7. When asked if you want to restart Eclipse*, select Yes

Step 2: Build a new project or open an existing project.

  1. Open Existing Project or Create New Project on Eclipse
  2. Right click on Project > Properties > C/C++ Build > Tool chain Editor
  3. Select Intel C++ Compiler from the right panel

Step 3: Set build configurations.

  1. Open Existing Project on Eclipse
  2. Right click on Project > Properties > C/C++ Build > Settings
  3. Create or manage build configurations in the right panel

Next Steps

Find More: Intel® C++ Compiler

Document Description

Intel® C++ Compiler 19.1 Developer Guide and Reference

The Developer Guide and Reference contains information on:

  • How to use the command line or the Eclipse* CDT
  • Support for the latest compiler technologies and architectures.
  • Compiler reference material, including options, program structures, class and math libraries, and much more

Intel® C++ Compiler Release Notes

Information on product installation, new and changed features, and issues that are not described in the product documentation.

This link takes you an archive of Intel® C++ Compiler release notes on the Intel® Developer Zone.

Compiler Code Samples

Intel® C++ Compiler Tutorials
Find the latest code samples and product support. Learn specific compiler optimizations, features, tools, and programming concepts.

Intel® Software Documentation Library

Software product documentation on the Intel® Developer Zone.

Other Help

You can access general help for compiler options after setting up the environment by entering at the command line.

Find More: Intel® Product Suites

Document Description

Online Training

The online training sites are an excellent resource for training on using the compiler in conjunction with your product suite.

Release Notes

Information on the product installation, new and changed features, and issues that are not described in the product documentation.

These links take you to the Intel® Developer Zone.

Code Samples and Tutorials

Code samples and corresponding tutorials. Learn specific compiler optimizations, features, tools, and programming concepts.

Intel® C++ Compiler 19.0 Developer Guide and Reference Supplement for Intel® System Studio 2019

This document supplement contains information specific to Intel® System Studio.

Notices and Disclaimers

Intel, the Intel logo, Intel Atom, Intel Core, Intel Xeon Phi, VTune and Xeon are trademarks of Intel Corporation in the U.S. and/or other countries.

*Other names and brands may be claimed as the property of others.

© Intel Corporation.

This software and the related documents are Intel copyrighted materials, and your use of them is governed by the express license under which they were provided to you (License). Unless the License provides otherwise, you may not use, modify, copy, publish, distribute, disclose or transmit this software or the related documents without Intel's prior written permission.

This software and the related documents are provided as is, with no express or implied warranties, other than those that are expressly stated in the License.